Cinnaholic: The 100% Vegan Cinnamon Roll Joint

On my recent trip to Northern California, my mom and I spent an afternoon strolling around Berkeley.  We absolutely had to stop in to Cinnaholic–the world’s first all-vegan cinnamon roll shop (well, I’m just assuming it’s the world’s first.  Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong.)  At this adorable little shop there are endless combos of icing flavors and toppings.  My mom opted for a classic cinnamon roll with plain frosting while I went for pumpkin icing with cookie dough on top, with some vanilla soymilk to wash it all down.

Before entering the place, I had mentally prepared myself for the postprandial sugar-coma I assumed would ensue.  But I was pleasantly surprised to find that the cinnamon rolls, while definitely decadent, were not the sickeningly sweet fat-bombs I used to eat every time I found myself within spitting distance of an airport Cinnabon.  These rolls were perfectly buttery while still flaky.  The icings, which are flavored using extracts, aren’t applied with a heavy hand, so they don’t drown the roll and turn it to mush.

If you aren’t feeling very inventive, Cinnaholic offers a menu of their own creations, such as this strawberry pie roll, complete with oatmeal crumble topping.

Cinnaholic is such a rare gem.  It’s not often one finds a bakery where you can walk in and order absolutely anything off the menu, knowing it is guaranteed to be vegan  I think they should expand tout-de-suite and open their second location in L.A.  Hell, they are so good, I’d be willing to buy my own Cinnaholic franchise and open it up myself!

Cinnaholic
2132 Oxford St.
Berkeley, CA 94704
510.647.8684

9 responses to “Cinnaholic: The 100% Vegan Cinnamon Roll Joint

  1. oh, this is inspiring! i have a cook date coming up, and we are going to attempt xgfx cinnamon rolls! thanks for the good ideas and pretty pictures. these look amazing…

    xo
    kittee

  2. If I ever go to California, I am bringing a sleeping bag and never leaving this place…it looks so amazing

  3. And the great news is you don’t have to live nearby to enjoy these tasty gems! I live in Pennsylvania and ordered some for delivery! They come with instructions to give them that “fresh baked” taste and it was truly amazing! I can’t wait to order more!

  4. Cookie dough on top?! My mind is blown!

  5. Pingback: cinnaholic vegan cinnamon roll bakery in berkeley california | quarrygirl.com

  6. Gauri Radha गौरी राधा

    Those look so delicious!!!

  7. Though this spot is in NorCal, it excites me that I may be able to still have awesome things like cinnamon rolls when I attempt vegan life (for a month) starting in January. Wish me luck! Send me tips! Give me a prayer? ha 🙂

    • what, really! that’s so fun! let’s go grab food at a vegan spot together!!! and let me know if you have any questions or want to borrow any vegan cookbooks 🙂 I’m getting my test kitchen post ready for ya too!

Leave a comment