Fall’s Absolute Best Dessert: Baked Apples

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t totally excited that it started to rain the second after I laced up my tennis shoes to go running.  I’ll take any excuse I can to avoid my daily run!  I already had a Plan B in place.  I instantly traded out my sneakers for my flats and headed for Glendale’s most visited tourist attraction: The Americana.  The mission: to find a pair or two of the cutest vegan boots this season has to offer.

I’m fairly positive I tried on every non-leather/non-suede boot in the mall today and in the end I took home 1 super el cheapo pair and I’ve got another pair on hold that I will decide on tomorrow after I’ve taken a gander at the ole credit card statement.  Regardless, it was quite an exhausting adventure going from store to store, sniffing all the shoes that weren’t clearly labeled to determine their animal content (although the leathery smell is no longer a 100% confirmation that something is leather since shoe companies often add a leather scent to their polyurethine products to fool people…SIGH)  When I got home I put on my go-to rainy weather bumming around outfit–tall (faux) furry boots, leggings, and a monkey robe–and started making a giant vat of veggie soup and my absolute favorite fall dessert: baked apples!

apple1

Baked apples are ridonkulously easy although they do require about an hour and five minutes of time to make from start to finish, so plan ahead.  I don’t believe in recipes for baked apples.  They are truly something you should just wing.  If you have something in your fridge or pantry that sounds like it would taste good shoved into the cavity of an apple, then by all means, shove it in there!  Here is the basic procedure:

Heat your oven to 400 degrees.  Core your apples, but don’t go all the way through–you want the bottom of the apple to be in tact.  Peel the skin off the top third of the apples.  In a bowl, mix together your hodgepodge of tasty goodies.  All I did tonight was stir some diced dates, cinnamon, and brown sugar into a few tablespoons of Earth Balance.  Many people use yogurt instead of Earth Balance for a healthier version–I have yet to try that but I will soon!  Pecans or walnuts and maple syrup are also common additions.  Fill the cavity of your cored apples with the delicious hodgepodge and place the apples in a pan that’s lined with a half inch of water.  Bake for 1 hour.

When that hour is up and your house smells like a cider mill, garnish your apple with some ice cream or just some syrup like I did, and dig in!  If you want to get REALLY tasty, add a bunch of brown sugar to the water in the pan before cooking.  When the apples are done, the water will have cooked down to a thick caramel-y syrup that you can pour over your dessert.  Anyone out there have any interested version of baked apples?

apple2

mofo3

4 responses to “Fall’s Absolute Best Dessert: Baked Apples

  1. Ooooh scrumpadoodletasic! Those apples look fiiiine. Mighty fiiine.

  2. Yum! Baked apples with brown sugar syrup in the pan? That. Sounds. Awesome.

  3. I want to see the boots! Whenever I find great vegan boots, I always stockpile. 🙂

  4. Seriously, nothing is as satisfying as a baked apple on a cold night. The only thing is that it is SO HARD waiting that hour for sweet delicious apples to be ready.

Leave a Reply

