Saag Paneer…without the paneer

saag

Big thanks to all the nice comments, tweets, and e-mails about my dog!  I had to wait 24 excruciating hours for a diagnosis and thankfully it was the least serious of all the possible things that could have been wrong with her.  She just has a severe case of gastroenteritis and had to be on IV in the hospital a couple more days.  When I visited her today the vet brought out samples of all the bowel movements she’s made during her stay…yummy!  Anyway, she should be able to come home tomorrow!

I have been dreaming about the saag paneer from the all-you-can-eat Indian night at Flore Cafe for a week now, so I finally decided to take a stab at my own version.  I looked at a bajillion recipes before I found one that I thought was most similar to Flore Cafe’s.  I made this recipe with a couple of changes: I omitted the oil and paneer and used a can of tomatoes instead of fresh ones.  I also used just 1/3 cup of yogurt, cutting it back just because that’s the point when the dish seemed to taste the best.  Flore Cafe’s recipe used tofu cubes in place of paneer but it’s not really essential to the taste or texture of the dish so I didn’t use any.  I used Wildwood’s unsweetened plain probiotic soy yogurt.  It’s the best yogurt to use for any savory dish because unlike every other vegan yogurt on the planet, this kind isn’t a total sugarfest.  I served the saag over brown rice, but of course, basmati is ideal.

While this recipe wasn’t as insanely scrumptious as the saag paneer at Flore Cafe, this recipe was really effing good and I will probably be making it on a weekly basis.

mofo3

7 responses to “Saag Paneer…without the paneer

  1. I LOVE saag paneer. I’ve always wanted to make it. I’m just pretty lazy in getting the ingredients. Your version looks really good. Now if I could just kick myself in the behind and make this for myself.

  2. I am so glad you dog is OK!

  3. That’s great news! I’m so glad she’s going to be ok.

  4. Yum. Indian food is so good. Also super glad to hear the pup is okay!

  5. You are knocking these dishes out! Saag paneer is on the to make list.

  6. So glad to hear your doggie is doing better! What a huge relief. Sorry you had to go through that.

    Onto the food! That looks AMAZING! I’m so intimidated to cook Indian food so this is really impressive to me.

  7. looks nice. I will try this coming weekend. not sure if dish would be delicious without paneer

Leave a Reply

