Dr. Cow’s Tree Nut Cheeses

Recently I was bumming around my apartment (probably reading vegan food blogs) when I heard a knock at the door.  T’was a delivery man with a mysterious box.  For a moment I was worried that I had gotten drunk and accidentally ordered a half dozen cookbooks or something, but when I opened the package, I was pleased to find instead that my boyfriend had ordered me an array of Dr. Cow’s nut cheeses!  I have been dying to try Dr. Cows for a while but they are a bit of a splurge on my strict budget.  Apparently a co-worker told the bf how much I would enjoy the dairy-free cheeses and said bf decided to surprise me.  Nice!

IMG_1153

It has taken every ounce of willpower I have not to eat the entire spread in one sitting.  My roommate even made a comment about how often I was sneaking to the kitchen to take more nibbles.  How embarassing!  The bottom line is that these cheeses are freakin’ delicious.  Let’s check out the flavors:

My favorite of the bunch is the Cashew Nut Cream Cheese, which, unlike the others, is a very creamy spread.  It sort of tastes like a tangier and more flavorful version of traditional cream cheese.  You are going to be hearing me use “tangy” a lot in this post.  That special cheese tang is missing from a lot of cheese knock-offs, but not these!  I’d like to tell you how I spread this on bagels, veggie wraps, etc. but, instead I must admit that I knocked out the whole container by smothering it on crackers that I ate while standing by the fridge, just like I used to do with little wheels of smoked gouda.  It was a heavenly return to a bad habit.

1169

The aged cashew nut cheese tastes just like the cream cheese but it’s in wheel form.

1170

Actually, I found that all the cheeses with cashews as the only nut tasted basically identical to each other.  This isn’t bad news, as they all taste incredible, I just suggest you don’t worry about choosing between all the cashew flavors–one will do you just fine.  Even the Aged Cashew and Crystal Algae Cheese, with it’s blue-green hue, tasted the same as all the other cashew flavors.

IMG_1160

Aged cashew and hemp seeds cheese:

IMG_1159

The Aged Macademia Nut had a more spreadable texture than the other wheels.  Check out how awesomely it spreads on crackers.  Total yumfest.

IMG_1162

My least favorite of the assortment I had was the Aged Cashew and Brazil Nut flavor, my problem with it being that I simply don’t care for Brazil nuts and that’s what it tastes like.  But if brazil nuts are your jam, you will love this.

IMG_1165

I highly recommend Dr. Cow’s cheeses to vegans and non-vegans alike.  They would be an awesome addition to a spread at any sort of holiday party but they also taste great when eaten standing next to the ole ice box.  Dr. Cow’s website asserts that all the cheeses are low in fat, salt, and sodium, which I remain highly skeptical about since their composition is mainly cheese and salt.  The cheeses have few ingredients and they are all totally natural–mostly just nuts and obscure types of salt.  A vegan cheese made of whole foods–sign. me. up!

mofo3

10 responses to “Dr. Cow’s Tree Nut Cheeses

  1. I’ve heard good things about these cheeses. What I would be interested in is how they compare to home made cashew cheeses as this is the only way I’ll ever get to taste anything like this.

  2. I bought a wheel of Dr. Cow’s about a year ago and my first reaction (when I tried it plain) was yuck! But then I tried it on a cracker and it was amazing.

    You apparently have the most thoughtful boyfriend on the planet…lucky you!

  3. How sweet of your boyfriend to surprise you! That’s awesome. Your photos are so amazing – they’re really making me want to try these!

  4. Jealous! I’ll trade you some dog treats for some of that! ; )

  5. that man is a KEEPER!

    i love dr. cow’s. i think i need to book it to erewhon to stock up STAT.

    BTW, funnily enough brazil nut was my favorite…and i don’t normally like brazil nuts either!

  6. I really wish Dr. Cow’s would lower their prices or up the amount. The taste is good, but how much do cashews cost? Seriously. End rant.

    What an amazing boyfriend!!!

  7. those look great! I’ve only had basic cashew cheese, I never knew there were so many different kinds of nut cheeses.

  8. Man, I love it! I am pro-cashew! The macadamia was too gritty for me.

  9. I am so excited to have a girls night with our new cheezes!! Thanks for showcasing…

Leave a Reply

