Thanksgivin Wrapup

Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving!  Before I talk about mine…I shall reveal the winner of the Eating Animals giveaway.  After tallying the comments and retweets and then generating a random number on random.org…the winner is Bronwyn!  Congrats Bronwyn–look for a message from me on Twitter.

For Thanksgiving I went with my boyfriend and his family up to central (read: TINY TOWN) California to hang with his extended family, who I have never met.  I brought up my own little box of goodies for my meal knowing that it would be highly unlikely I would be able to eat a thing.  I was actually super excited about my dinner which consisted of Tofurkey and gravy, mashed potatoes, and an awesome golden beet salad all from Whole Foods.  There was also some homemade cranberry sauce and a ton of roasted brussel sprouts (which were all hidden on the bottom).

I know many of you prefer Field Roast, but I say Tofukery 4 eva!  I tried out a Field Roast last year and didn not enjoy it.  But my good ole Tofurkey came through like a champ.  I don’t recommend Whole Foods’ vegan mashed taters.  They were crumbly, not creamy…very odd.  They tasted good, but I could have easily made them better myself.  The one thing that the family served that I ate a ton of were Pillsbury Crescent Rolls–woo!

I was fully expecting all the typical comments a vegan eater gets when eating amongst meateaters (see Defensive Omnivore Bingo Card) but, my friends, I witnessed a THANKSGIVING MIRACLE!!!  The sole person who made any comment whatsoever about my food was one of my boyfriend’s aunts who said she had heard I was vegan and wanted to see what kind of good food I brought.  I couldn’t believe it.  I haven’t eaten meat in 8 years and yet every Christmas my family brings out the how-do-you-get-enough-proteins and the oh-I-could-just-never-do-without-my-KFCs.  But I gleefully chowed down with no one bugging me. It was AWESOME and completely unprecedented in my vegan life.

I whipped up Vegan Nom Nom’s Peanut Butter Mousse Cup Pie to bring to the party.  I didn’t have anything pretty to garnish with so I just melted some vegetable shortening with some peanut butter and drizzled it on top.  I ended up adding more peanut butter because you could still taste the tofu, but I ended up going overboard and when it came out, it tasted a little too much like just eating peanut butter right out of the jar.  With that said, I still shoved a piece or two into my head and the others seem to enjoy it.   Next time I will seek out Mori-Nu tofu.  I might even make it for my Christmas eve as it was really tasty.

6 responses to “Thanksgivin Wrapup

  1. The Fresno WF gave me 4 free ‘vegan proteins’ (Gardein with stuffing inside) on Thanksgiving! I agree about the mashed potatoes. Gravy makes everything better.

  2. Thanks again! Can’t wait to read the book.

    That’s a great idea for family dinners. I’m going to my best friend’s parents house for Christmas, and none of them are even vegetarian (I just got interested in vegetarian/veganism in the past few months). I’ll just bring my own thing, and maybe a full side dish to contribute as well.

  3. Yum – that pie looks so good! I find that sometimes the tofu tastes fades if I let stuff (like cheesecakes) set in the fridge overnight. But a mouthful of peanut butter sounds pretty good to me!

  4. Sooo glad to hear you had a great vegan thanksgiving experience!! I’ve spent my Thanksgivings in the past few years, only w/my vegan friends, so I hadn’t even contemplated the horror of the “do you get enough protein” questions over what should otherwise be a life-changing meal!! I’ll be posting pics of our feast, soon, but I’m pulling inspiration from yours as we speak! Also, that pie LOOKS BADA**, irrespective of how it tasted!!
    Hugs,
    🙂 C

  5. Hey yo soy!
    Also wanted to let you know there’s an Earth Cafe Raw Vegan Cheesecake giveaway happening now, on my new “vegan healthy real estate blog” http://www.YourHolisticAgent.com/blog ! Hope all is well & happy new year!!!
    🙂 Candy

  6. Great article but it didn’t have eveyrtnhig-I didn’t find the kitchen sink!

Leave a Reply

